PJ Harvey & John Parish - A Woman A Man Walked By

PJ Harvey & John Parish - A Woman A Man Walked By

Regular price
$29.99 USD
Sale price
$29.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

180g LP Reissue Faithful to the Original Recording with the Vinyl Cutting by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering, Overseen by John Parish!

A Woman A Man Walked By is the second album collaboration between PJ Harvey and John Parish, originally released on Island Records in 2009. Their first, Dance Hall at Louse Point, was released on the label in 1996. A Woman A Man Walked By was self-produced by the duo and mixed by Flood, with whom Parish and Harvey last worked together on Harvey's 2007 album White Chalk. Parish composed all of the music and plays all of the instruments while Harvey composed all of the lyrics and contributes all of the album's vocal performances. Like much of Harvey and Parish's work, together or as individuals, A Woman A Man Walked By is atmospheric and angular, primal yet precise, and ultimately rewarding.

The album was a UK Top 30 success and was favorably received by the critics. It was described by UK-based journalist John Harris, as "...mischievous, deadly serious, elegant and poetic, and possessed of a brutal power – it is doubtful that you will hear a record as brimming with creative brio and musical invention this year..." Elsewhere, The Guardian's 4-star review suggested "It all hangs together brilliantly, suggesting the mutual understanding of two artists at the peak of their powers," while Billboard noted that "Such a musical mind-meld, so expressive of both artists' perspective, is rare." The Observer declared the contents to be "Unexpectedly captivating... sheer, throat-grabbing charisma."

In 2020, UMC/Island announced a comprehensive reissue campaign which will see PJ Harvey's back catalogue, plus her two albums in collaboration with John Parish, released on vinyl across 2020 and 2021. For the first time, each of Harvey's accompanying album demos will also be available on vinyl. The campaign began with the reissue of Harvey's 1992 debut, Dry, in July 2020. This catalog project celebrates every aspect of Harvey's recording career and provides a comprehensive look at the evolution of a singular and extraordinary artist.

This 180g LP reissue is faithful to the original recording with the vinyl cutting by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering, overseen by John Parish.

  1. Black Hearted Love
  2. Sixteen, Fifteen, Fourteen
  3. Leaving California
  4. The Chair
  5. April
  6. A Woman a Man Walked By / The Crow Knows Where All the Little Children Go
  7. The Soldier
  8. Pig Will Not
  9. Passionless, Pointless
  10. Cracks in the Canvas