Nina Simone - The Montreux Years [2LP/ 180G]

Nina Simone - The Montreux Years [2LP/ 180G]

Regular price
$35.99 USD
Sale price
$35.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Nina Simone’s story from the late sixties to the nineties can be told through her legendary performances in Montreux. Taking to the Montreux stage for the first time on 16 June 1968 for the festival’s second edition, Simone built a lasting relationship with Montreux Jazz Festival and its Creator and Founder Claude Nobs, which uniqueness, trust and electricity can be clearly felt on the recordings. Simone’s multi-faceted and radical story is laid bare on Nina Simone The Montreux Years.

Featuring rare and previously unreleased material from Claude Nobs’ private collection, Nina Simone devotees worldwide will be thrilled by the inclusion of the powerful “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free,” poignant and fearless “Four Women” and Simone’s hauntingly beautiful performance of “Ne Me Quitte Pas.” Also included is a spinetingling version of Janis Ian’s searing and potent “Stars,” which Simone covered for the very first time during her 1976 Montreux performance.

  • - SIDE 1 -
  • 1 Someone to Watch Over Me
  • 2 Backlash Blues
  • 3 I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
  • 4 See-Line Woman
  • - SIDE 2 -
  • 1 Little Girl Blue
  • 2 Don't Smoke in Bed
  • 3 Stars
  • 4 What a Little Moonlight Can Do
  • - SIDE 3 -
  • 1 African Mailman
  • 2 Just in Time
  • 3 Four Women
  • 4 No Woman No Cry
  • - SIDE 4 -
  • 1 Liberian Calypso
  • 2 Ne Me Quitte Pas
  • 3 Montreux Blues
  • 4 My Baby Just Care