Mt. Joy - Rearrange Us

Mt. Joy - Rearrange Us

Regular price
$26.99 USD
Sale price
$26.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Mt. Joy deliver Rearrange Us, their second album for Dualtone Records and first working with producer Tucker Martine (My Morning Jacket, The Decemberists, Modest Mouse) at Flora Recording & Playback in Portland, OR. An album about finding ways to work past one's emotional and mental struggles with intentionality, Rearrange Us showcases the young band's growing ambition and sonic experimentation.

"My Vibe, Your Vibe" blends psychedelic affirmations with a rootsy stomp and a swirl of synthesizers, while "Come With Me" goes from a decayed choral elegy to a breezy, Allen Toussaint-indebted barn-burner – a battle cry for pushing yourself to have a good time amid new company. And "Have Faith," a southern gospel-influenced duet with singer Liz Vice, exemplifies the band's newfound range and Matt Quinn's emergent songwriting prowess. The resulting album is a triumph of spirit and self-knowledge: Matt Quinn's songwriting is at once more painterly and less precise, like perfectly rendered vignettes from a largely disjointed memory of a dream.

"Tucker Martine's such a wizard with sound, and he's got an incredible ear for song structure," says Quinn. "We knew we were getting somewhere when we'd finish a take and he'd say ‘I felt things.' It was a good barometer that we were on track and creating something that felt meaningful."

  1. Bug Eyes
  2. Rearrange Us
  3. Have Faith
  4. My Vibe
  5. Let Loose
  6. Every Holiday
  7. Come With Me
  8. Death
  9. Acrobats
  10. Witness
  11. Us
  12. Become
  13. Strangers