Houndmouth - Little Neon Limelight

Houndmouth - Little Neon Limelight

Regular price
$27.99 USD
Sale price
$27.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

The follow-up to their "near perfect" (NPR Music) debut album, Houndmouth's second album Little Neon Limelight finds the four-piece stretching out in every direction. Working with producer Dave Cobb (Beck, Sturgill Simpson, Jason Isbell) in Nashville, they were able to bring the kind of size and warmth that does justice to this batch of songs, worked out over eighteen months on the road, and resonant with joy, hurt, loneliness, glory: all of human ache and loveliness.

Little Neon Limelight sees Houndmouth further differentiating themselves from the airtight song structures and shouty singalongs of the current “Americana” scene, treading into territory occupied by not only their Southern rock forebears, but with an attention to songwriting and vocal performance recalling at times The Band, Ryan Adams, Gillian Welch, the Beatles, and the Kinks. 

Highlights of Little Neon Limelight include the live fan-favorites "By God," "My Cousin Greg," and "Say It," plus the acoustic track "For No One," - all unlike anything else Houndmouth has ever recorded before. On "Gasoline," Katie Toupin (keyboard/vocals) barbs the confessions of a perennial party girl with the specter of mortality ("Maybe I'll meet my maker on a bedroom floor"). 

Shane Cody (drums/vocals) leads vocals on the album's heartbreaker, "Honey Slider," and the group embraces their garage-rock influences on the thrilling, needle-in-the-red cut, "15 Years," which finds Zak Appleby singing one of the album's most infectious refrains ("15 years on the county line / Enough to make a man nearly lose his mind").

Houndmouth Little Neon Limelight Track Listing:

1.  Sedona
2.  Otis
3.  15 Years
4.  For No One
5.  Black Gold
6.  Honey Slider
7.  My Cousin Greg
8.  Gasoline
9.  By God
10. Say It
11. Darlin’