Evanescence - The Open Door [2LP]

Evanescence - The Open Door [2LP]

Regular price
$29.99 USD
Sale price
$29.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

In theory, epic gothic rockers Evanescence have done everything but live up to their name, which is defined as a "disappearance" or something that merely "dissipates like vapor." Instead, the Little Rock, AR quintet led by charismatic vocalist/pianist Amy Lee have proved to be a powerful presence in the international arena in the 21st Century. Their elusive sound has drawn comparisons with bands as diverse as nu-metal heroes Linkin Park through to intense symphonic metal acts such as Nightwish and Within Temptation, but in truth, Evanescence have always blazed their own trail.

A far more visceral proposition than its illustrious predecessor, 2006's The Open Door leant primarily towards widescreen Gothic rock. But while thick metal riffage was often the name of the game, Evanescence were also prepared to stretch, incorporating Portishead-esque drama and intrigue into "Lose Control," and even elements of Mozart's Requiem and a 22-piece orchestra into the epic "Lacrymosa." Critics once again widely praised Lee's ethereal soprano, though save for "Good Enough" and the slow, morose "Lithium" (Lee's personal ode to the late Kurt Cobain) The Open Door largely eschewed the Tori Amos-esque piano-led ballads which had been such a feature of Fallen.


  1. Sweet Sacrifice
  2. Call Me When You're Sober
  3. Weight Of The World
  4. Lithium
  5. Cloud Nine
  6. Snow White Queen
  7. Lacrymosa
  8. Like You
  9. Lose Control
  10. The Only One
  11. Your Star
  12. All That I'm Living For
  13. Good Enough