Curtis Mayfield - Curtis / Live! [2LP/ 180G] (MOV)

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis / Live! [2LP/ 180G] (MOV)

Regular price
$50.99 USD
Sale price
$50.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Curtis/Live! is Curtis Mayfield's first live album after leaving The Impressions. Originally released in 1971 as a double LP on Mayfield's Curtom label, the album's 16 tracks – along with Mayfield's interstitial raps on the politics of the day – were recorded at Paul Colby's 230 seater Bitter End nightclub in New York City. Mayfield and his band's first set at a Bitter End date in January 1971 comprised the bulk of the music presented here. Mixed primarily with Eddie Kramer at Electric Lady Studios, the album features Henry Gibson on percussion, Craig McMullen on rhythm guitar, Joseph "Lucky" Scott on bass, and Tyrone McCullen on drums. Many critics feel Curtis/Live! is a powerful demonstration of Mayfield's pre-Superfly masterwork, and one of the greatest concert albums ever cut by a soul artist. Expanded edition contains two bonus tracks.


  • 1. Mighty Mighty (Spade And Whitey)
  • 2. I Plan To Stay A Believer
  • 3. We're A Winner
  • 4. We've Only Just Begun
  • 5. People Get Ready
  • 6. Stare And Stare


  • 1. Check Out Your Mind
  • 2. Gypsy Woman
  • 3. The Makings Of You
  • 4. We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue
  • 5. (Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below
  • 6. We're All Gonna Go
  • 7. Stone Junkie
  • 8. Superfly (1973) (bonus track)
  • 9. Mighty Mighty (Spade and Whitey) (Single Version) (bonus track)