Butterfield Blues Band, The - The Original Lost Elektra Sessions Deluxe [3LP/ Remastered] (RSD 2022)

Butterfield Blues Band, The - The Original Lost Elektra Sessions Deluxe [3LP/ Remastered] (RSD 2022)

Regular price
$56.99 USD
Sale price
$56.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Paul Butterfield met aspiring blues guitarist Elvin Bishop in the early 1960s and with bassist Jerome Arnold and drummer Sam Lay (both from Howlin Wolf's touring band), the new group secured a highly successful club engagement at Big John's Folk Club in Chicago which brought them to the attention of producer Paul A. Rothchild. During their engagement, Butterfield met and occasionally sat in with guitarist Mike Bloomfield. Rothchild was impressed with the chemistry between the two and persuaded Paul to bring Bloomfield into the band and eventually signed them to Elektra Records in 1964. This Deluxe 3LP expanded edition of The Paul Butterfield Band's lost sessions from the 1964-1966 era features the classic line up working through blues classics. It is the first time this killer collection is available on vinyl and is expanded to include unreleased demo and alternate tracks recently found in the Warner Vaults.

A1 Good Morning Little School Girl
A2 Just To Be With You
A3 Help Me
A4 Hate To See You Go
A5 Poor Boy
A6 Nut Popper #1
A7 Everything‘s Gonna Be Alright

B1 Lovin‘ Cup
B2 Rock Me
B3 It Hurts Me Too
B4 Our Love Is Drifting
B5 Take Me Back
B6 Mellow Down Easy

C1 Ain‘t No Need To Go No Further
C2 Love Her With A Feeling
C3 Piney Brown Blues
C4 Spoonful
C5 That‘s Allright
C6 Going Down Slow

D1 Mellow Down Easy (Unedited 2021 Remix)
D2 Ain't No Need To Go No Further (Alternate Version)
D3 Keep On Loving' Me Baby (Unreleased Demo)
D4 Off The Wall (Alternate Instrumental Version)
D5 Blues With A Feeling (Alternate Version)

E1 Memory Pain (Unreleased Demo)
E2 Born In Chicago (Alternate Version)
E3 Nut Popper #1 (Alternate Version/First Take)
E4 One More Mile (Alternate Version)
E5 Love Her With A Feeling (Full Length Version)

F1 Mystery Train (Alternate Version)
F2 Blues For Ruth (Unreleased Instrumental Jam)
F3 Love Song (Unreleased Instrumental)
F4 Danger Zone (Unreleased Demo)