Billie Holiday - Lady in Satin

Billie Holiday - Lady in Satin

Regular price
$26.99 USD
Sale price
$26.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Billie Holiday Lady In Satin on LP 

Billie Holiday was a true artist of her day and rose as a social phenomenon in the 1950s. Her soulful, unique singing voice and her ability to boldly turn any material that she confronted into her own music made her a superstar of her time. Today, Holiday is remembered for her masterpieces, creativity and vivacity, as many of Lady Day’s songs are as well known today as they were decades ago. Holiday’s poignant voice is still considered to be one of the greatest jazz voices of all time.

After years on Norman Granz's Clef/Norgran/Verve group of labels, and impressed by arrangements she had heard by Ray Ellis, Holiday cut this album for Columbia in 1958. A highwater mark of her career, Lady In Satin served as Billie's second to last studio effort and final album released during her lifetime. The results are a very smooth, velvety set of tunes that go down like a twelve year old single-malt scotch. Standouts include "I Get Along Without You Very Well" and "You've Changed." 

Billie Holiday Lady In Satin Track Listing:

1.  I'm A Fool to Want You
2.  For Heaven's Sake
3.  You Don't Know What Love Is
4.  I Get Along Without You Very Well
5.  For All We Know
6.  Violets for Your Furs
7.  You've Changed
8.  It's Easy to Remember
9.  But Beautiful
10. Glad to Be Unhappy
11. I'll Be Around