Limit One Copy of Each Item Per Customer

Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers - Chippin' In [2LP/ 180G/ Ltd Ed Clear Vinyl/ Obi Strip]

Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers - Chippin' In [2LP/ 180G/ Ltd Ed Clear Vinyl/ Obi Strip]

Regular price
$35.99 USD
Sale price
$35.99 USD
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

The legacy of Art Blakey and his band is not only the music they produced but also the opportunities they provided for several generations of jazz musicians. Released on the legendary Dutch jazz label Timeless Records and one of his final recordings, Chippin' In contains ten sublime tracks recorded at Rudy van Gelder's Recording Studio in February 1990. Art Blakey passed away just 8 months after these tracks were cut, but you can't hear any signs of him slowing down at all.

For these specific recordings, The Jazz Messengers were expanded from its usual quintet or sextet into a septet and they showcase their energetic signature sound with remarkable style, musical knowledge, a dash of good humor and camaraderie you'd expect from a world-class band who have entertained, thrilled and amazed for almost five decades. The line-up on these fantastic sessions includes non-other than Essiet Okon, Geoff Keezer, Dale Barlow, Javon Jackson, Frank Lacy, Steve Davis and Brian Lynch... impressive to say the least!

Chippin' In sounds as successful, young and vibrant as ever! Expect supercharged hard bop with striking notes, no-holds-barred musicianship, high swinging solos, screaming choruses and plenty of solid virtuosity to spare. This electrifying set of tracks contains both originals and several eclectic versions of standards... making this release a bonafide hit and a must-have for any self-respecting jazz fan or collector.

Tidal Waves Music now proudly presents the FIRST ever vinyl release of Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers' Chippin' In. This unique album comes as a deluxe 180g Double vinyl edition (strictly limited to 500 copies) with an obi strip. The jacket features exclusive session pics shot by legendary Dutch photographer Joost Leijen (known for his work with artists such as Chet Baker and Pharoah Sanders), also included is an insert with liner notes by renowned author and producer Russ Musto.

  • 1 Brain Stormin'
  • 2 Byrdflight
  • 3 Hammerhead
  • 4 Aquarius Rising
  • 5 Kay Pea
  • 6 Chippin' in
  • 7 Raincheck
  • 8 Chandek's Den
  • 9 Kenji's Walk
  • 10 Love Walked in